Conversations With My Daughter #61

September 2014

So, how was your first day back at school, Alice?
“s’OK”
Really? Just OK?
“Yes. It was fine”.
Did you play with J__?
“No”
Oh? But you’ve spent all summer going on and on about how beautiful he is! You told practically everyone we met on holiday that he was your boyfriend, at great length, whether they wanted to know or not (and let’s be honest, they probably didn’t). Did he speak to you?
“No”
Did you say anything to him?
“No”
Did you sit next to him or anything?
“No!”
But I thought you were going to marry him…!
[shrugs]
Is anything the matter?
“It’s nothing. Daddy, I’m sorry to tell you, but sometimes romance just… dies.”
[walks out of the room]

"You're not my boyfriend anymore because Georgia says all boys have fleas and you don't give me cuddles and...and... you smell and... I think we should be friends except not really..."
“You’re not my boyfriend anymore because Georgia says all boys have fleas and you don’t give me cuddles and…and… you just want to play Transformers and not Kiss-Chase and you smell and…and… I think we should be friends except not really…”

The following day, there was an update.
So how was school, Alice?
“s’OK”
Did you talk to J____ today?
“Yes. We’re getting married again”
Oh right. Oh. OK. I thought you weren’t boyfriend and girlfriend anymore.
“Well, we are now. I thought we were apart yesterday, but I told him he was my boyfriend again today.”
That’s great, but a little inconsistent. Don’t you think you might be sending him mixed messages?
[exasperated sigh] “Daddy, you just DON’T know about love like I do…”

Leave a Reply

