Conversations With My Daughter #63

October 2014

Alice’s first proper swearing!

“My feet are bloody hurting!”

She has actually said swear words before, usually through repetition of something she’s overheard by accident, but this is the first time she’s ever used profanity in its proper context to add emphasis to something. Part of me is sad that her language is now tainted, part of me reacted as though I was an outraged gentleman (complete with monocle popping out), and part of me – quite a significant part, I might add – is a little bit proud she’s unlocked this linguistic achievement.

"Shit off!"
“Shit off!”
Leave a Reply

