Conversations With My Daughter #70

April 2015

Whilst shopping in the supermarket, a complete stranger came up to me and gave me a sweet to give to Alice because “she’s behaving so beautifully”. I’m rather proud of my little girl for that, because like all parents, I find myself often being slightly humiliated by my daughter in the supermarket (the rows, the shouting, the whining, the demands to go to the toilet… and that’s just from me! LOLOLOLOLOLz), so this is a pleasant affirmation that sometimes Alice is brilliant in public, enough to profit from it at least. If he had handed me a note to go with it, I could have put it up on Facebook and it would have gone viral, and appeared on Buzzfeed, and by now I’d be stinking rich* and famous. As it is, it’s just… y’know… Monday.

On the way home, Alice looked out of the car window. She sighed and said: “I’m tired of doing all the supercool-awesome stuff. I’m going to have a relaxed attitude from now on…”

I typed 'supercool awesome stuff' into Google images, and got this. Self-explanatory, really.
I typed ‘supercool awesome stuff’ into Google images, and got this. Self-explanatory, really.

(I didn’t actually give her the sweet in the end. I have some sort of innate paranoia about accepting sweets from strangers…)

*Oh come on, I’d share some of it with her.

Leave a Reply

