Conversations With My Daughter #75

July 2015

It is Sports Day in school, and although it has been forced to relocate into the nearby gymnasium due to horrific rain, the atmosphere is buoyant. I have brought the camera, and after chatting with the mums n’ dads, I join Alice’s class to film her efforts. I know her class pretty well, as I have volunteered on school trips and in helping with their reading. They’re a good bunch of kids. Alice, however, gets overexcited if I show up, and she often shows me off.

Alice: “My daddy’s here! Everyone, this is my Daddy! This is my Daddy!”

Alice’s classmates: “Yes, we know. He’s your dad. We’ve seen him before”

Alice [desperately trying to think of something impressive]: “He drinks SlimFast!”

Even her class teacher facepalmed.

"Before"
“Before”
"After" (probably. Although I'm not going to get much slimmer if I keep eating all that cake)"
“After” (…probably. Although I’m not going to get much slimmer if I keep eating all that cake)

 

 

Leave a Reply

